Jeffrey Promnitz - Fair Housing Act - Seven Protected Classes

News, Articles & Quizzles

Keep up-to-date with what's going on in our world

There are seven protected classes

The Civil Rights Act was passed in 1968 under President Lyndon Johnson, which was a monumental change in our country's progress towards equality in many aspects of life.  Specifically, Titles VIII and IX, commonly known as the "Fair Housing Act" declared there to be five protected classes of people that cannot be discriminated against in most housing sitations.  These included:  Race, Religion, National Origin, Color, and Sex.  Then, in 1988 the Act was amended to also include two additional classes:  Handicap and Familial Status.

This means that today there are Seven Protected Classes in affordable housing that you must be keenly aware of when operating affordable housing.  Visit our Training Calendar to learn more.

  1. Race
  2. Religion
  3. National Origin
  4. Color
  5. Sex
  6. Handicap
  7. Familial Status

You must know too that discrimination does not have to be deliberate or intentional, it can be a matter of "disparate impact" and properties can be significantly penalized if this occurs.  It has been upheld by case law.

Posted in: Articles
Actions: E-mail | Permalink |

Subscribe to
Compliance Quizzles